Electoral Board


Dot Matthews 2Chairman (R)

Ms. Dorothea E. Matthews
Appointed: Jan. 1, 2022
Term ends: Dec. 31, 2024

Vice Chairman (D)

Mr. Perry M. DePue
Appointed: March 1, 2018
Term ends: Dec. 31, 2023

Secretary (D)

Ms. Kay Cheves
Appointed: March 1, 2014
Term ends: Dec. 31, 2022

About the Board

The Electoral Board meets at the Office of Elections:

4095 Ironbound Road
Williamsburg, VA 23188

The James City County Electoral Board is a 3-member panel appointed by the James City County/Williamsburg Circuit Court Judges, based on nominations from the 2 political parties that received the most votes in the most recent gubernatorial election. The Governor's party has 2 representatives on the Board and the party receiving the next highest number of votes has 1 representative.

Member Terms

The members of the Electoral Board serve staggered terms of 3 years, each term commencing on March 1 and expiring the last day of February 3 years hence.

A vacancy occurring during the 3-year term of any member shall be filled for the balance of that term, using the same general criteria for appointment.

The Electoral Board is charged with conducting elections in James City County and certifying the results.